Government should support sports and the arts at school to encourage children to take part in sports, more than supporting professional sports and artistic performances for general public. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modernized society, sports and arts have gained significant popularity among the general public as these professionals can generate revenue as much as a doctor. While some people argue that governments should spend budget on sports and the arts at school to support the promising rising star, I strongly believe that this fund should be used to support professional athletes and artists instead. One of the primary reasons for supporting professional athletes and artists is the substantial it brings to the country’s economic growth. When governments support training costs and monthly expenditure of full-time athletes, these professionals have no worries about this amount of money, and, consequently dedicating all of their time and effort to their practice. Therefore, they can show their incredible performance to the general public in the world competition, such as the Olympics games, which creates reputation to their home country. Once this nation has got recognization from foreigners around the world, a significant number of tourists visit this country, and, consequently generating more revenues to local people. For instance, May, one of the female golfers in Thailand, who ranked first in LPGA, the global golf competition, for five consecutive years from 2014 to 2019, created reputatiion to Thailand enormously. A vast number of foreigners around the world, who are a big fan of golf, have visited Thailand since they intend to go to every golf club that May used to practice. As a result, it stimulates the economy of Thailand, as visitors spent a significant amount of money on hotel, food, and Thai local products. Another significant reason is to obtain sponsorship from private companies, leading to the improvement of facilities and equipment. After a famous athlete, who get supports from her/his government, received the golden medal during the global competition, some global organizations, for instance, Adidas and Nike, see this as an opportunity to send clothes, shoes, equipment, and even invest in facilities required for a training program in order to create a profound relationship with these professional athletes. This not only benefits athletic professionals to use this high-quality sports equipment but these sponsors can also attract a vast number of customers in the new market, who are interested in their sport products after seeing their athletic idols wearing them, resulting in more sales and profits of those companies. In conclusion, although supporting professional sports and artistic performances can lost the considerable number of rising stars who can create reputation to their homeland in the future, the benefits it offers at the present time are undeniable. In my opinion, professional athletes can play what ever sport they like while generating revenues through govenmental government support, and therefore, their well performance can create more opportunities for young children to introduce them in the same path.