In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, it has become much easier for people to have access to different products from all around the globe including food. While some individuals might claim that this trend has drawn back for local markets, I will be mentioning why it could be more of a positive development to both consumers and producers. To start with, one of the major advantages when it comes to open markets is the variety of available options for buyers. For instance, an individual has a wider range of choices to buy the same product, which would allow him/her to explore the market to either find a better quality variant or one with better price tags. In addition, this also helps immigrants a lot by giving them the choice to access local foods even if they go to another completely different nation. Moreover, this trend also comes in the favour of producers as well, by giving them a bigger number of shoppers. For example, if a farmer can not sell enough products because local people have no demand for it, he can expand his market by exporting the corps to somewhere with much more demand. In addition, the made from such sales will also help that country in economic aspects, as the tax can be counted on as a source of income for the government. To conclude, even though I am aware of potential risks opposed to local markets and transport-related issues, I still believe that the economic benefits, wider market range and more diversity are greater gains.