All over the world, people watch foreign films much more than locally produced films. Why? Should the government provide financial support to local film industries?

It is true that in this contemporary world, mostly viewers show their interest in watching internationally developed movies rather than the films which are originated at regional platform. There are number of reasons behind the shifting interest of public towards western cinema and according to me state should definitely provide monetary assistance to local film industry. There are numerous factors which attract the audience towards the oversea movies. Firstly, huge investment is the biggest reason behind the fame of these movies. They have state-of-the-art technology due to which they are able to develop sophisticated techniques and higher quality in terms of visual effects which becomes the reason of giving big blockbusters to the entertainment world. Secondly, availability of more genres in these movies is also thing need to be considered as compared to the familiar storyline of regional movies. For instance, movies based on science and technology, wild life and space exploration make real difference. Finally, curiosity of masses to know about foreign culture and lifestyle is also helpful to attract international viewers. However, local film industry should not be allowed to suffer from the onslaught of international films. The first benefit of the patronage by the government can assist it to flourish the local cinema and would make it capable to compete with international films. Moreover, it seems an essential approach to portray the culture in front of the world as these movies act as carrier of country's culture. At the end, by subsidizing this industry, it will help to boost the tourism industry too because by watching the attractive locations through movies, authorities will be able to attract more number of visitors which ultimately, will appear as a positive sign for the economy. In conclusion, I believe that certain key reasons exist which enhance the worldwide fame of hollywood movies, but some immediate steps need to be taken to protect the existence of local cinema.