In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say as ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that having older population raises challenges for the government. Others feel that having older generation can benefit the society. Despite there might be several positive impacts for the society by nurturing older generation, I still think that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Elder people tend to have more knowledge and experience since they already lived in this world relatively longer than younger generation. As a result, older generation may provide us with suggestions to solve many problems based on their own experiences. For example, older generation, who experienced a financial crisis in 1998, can give us some fruitful lessons on the financial crisis, so we can alleviate similar unwanted events that may arise in the future. However, this knowledge still can be gathered by younger people through various sources, such as internet, books, and journals. One of the biggest disadvantages if the society has more elderly population is the government is required to provide an enormous amount of financial support for elder people since they do not work anymore. This may result in unproductive expenses by the government as they are unable to perform as productive as younger people. For instance, many of the government institutions in Indonesia, which have been established a long time ago, need to spend more than 50% of their company budget for pension benefits. If society has fewer old people, these expenses may be used for other productive purposes, such as investment and business expansion activities. In conclusion, while elder people can provide us with some meaningful suggestions to avoid similar undesirable events, there are enormous costs that need to be provided by the government to support old people. With the abovementioned reasons, I believe that the disadvantage outweighs the advantage.