Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Formal examinations are used worldwide to assess students. Although they are effective, new methods such as continual assessments in the form of classwork and projects are being introduced. It is agreed that this newly developed methods provide satisfactory way to do this. Taking into consideration students capability to present their skills in different ways as well as the decrement of stress load they usually face with informal examination. To begin with, continual assessments provides an efficient way to assess students. For instance, students are encouraged to work together as a team and do projects using their talents and skills. This advantage is missed out when using the informal examinations that directs students into a boreing path of memorising what is in the book and write it down in exam paper. Therefore, it is more reliable to assess students through continual assessments. Another point to consider, it is commonly known that exams are associated with stress. For example, while preparing for exams Students are reading hundreds of pages as they don't know which part they are going to be asked of. In addition, the pressure of scores and the fear to fail that the students carry on in their minds throughout the stressful exam conditions. Continual assessments are much better for this point. Thus, Classwork and projects are better ways to replace informal exams. In conclusion, continual assessment is a more reliable method to evaluate students, as students are able to present their skills, and relief the stress they stand against using informal examinations. Thats why it is agreed that that assessing students using projects or class work is more effective. In the recent world it is predicted to begin transitioning to this method.