In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary world, individuals tend to live longer than previous centuries. It is often argued that elder community induce several governmental dilemmas, whereas others strongly advocate that the society could benefit from old people. I firmly believe that drawbacks of growing elder population outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, old people stands out with certain perks, such as they are transferring morals, ethics, cultures and merits to young generations. In addition, old people are the memory of the world, they express their experience and knowledge. These attitudes attributed to the conservation of the past. For instance, my grandfather usually talk about his past occupation experiences and the Turkish culture when we meet. Sometimes, he is even showing some traditional dance moves, even though his age. Thanks to my grandfather, I learned many things from his past, also learned about my culture. However, the growing community of elders increasing the payments of the government. Moreover, if the population keep the gradual increase, an detrimental ramification could occurred on the national economy. The main reason behind of this is that the growth of the retirement payments are aligned with the elder population. A clear example of this can be seen in Italy, in 1987, the amount of Italian old people became very excessive, and the Italian government was paying to retired people more than technological investments. Therefore, in 2000, Italy suffered from economic crises, which is caused by pension fees. In conclusion, old people have many social benefits, such as conserving local culture and transferring experiences to youngsters, yet governments may experience financial troubles, which could reduce local welfare, with the dramatic increase of old population.