# **Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.** Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, some university students have idea that besides the main subject, they should study some extra courses. However, others debate that they should invest all their time and efforts to focus on the main course. From my perspective, we should let students to study extra courses, but we should recommend them well distributing time and effort to study those additional subjects along with the main subjects. It is undeniable that university time is essential for students because it prepares them the important knowledge for their majors before they join the workforce. With deep understanding about the major, students have more opportunities and higher competency than other applicants who change their majors when applying for a job relating to their majors even though they have not yet had any working experience. Furthermore, they will not be overwhelmed by the knowledge they will apply in the jobs, but they will have more time to adapt themselves in the office environment and develop their soft skills. Taking a student majoring in Software Engineer as an example, when he get a job as a Software Engineer, it is easier for him to read, understand, and code a programme compared to students in the same age who graduated with a Electrical Engineering degree although he has trained himself some codings. However, the job market is currently experiencing the significant shifts in employees between majors and changes in skills within each major due to technology advancement. Therefore, extra courses help prepare students cross-field knowledge at their early age so that they can flexibly adapt to the changes in the workforce as well as help students to understand their favours so that they can make suitable decisions for their career paths. As a result, universities should design and limit the course selections to the most related courses to each major in which students can study because it can negatively affect students by overwhelming students in choosing which additional subjects they should study or some students might follow their friends which can confusing students in making decisions for their careers. In summary, while investing time and efforts for a major will well prepare students for the job market, we should not ignore the benefits of extra courses. I believe that balancing time to study main and extra courses is the most suitable method to educate students.