In some cultures, children are often told that they can achive anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some culture, children are frequently taught that they can succeed in anything they want by putting in enough effort. This probably benefits children as it encourages them to follow their dreams ambitiously; however, it also has some drawbacks, leading pupils to be disappointed when they cannot achieve something. On one hand, Telling children that achievements come from putting in much effort allows them to think and dream bigger, leading to more success in their lives. There is a well-known theory namely ‘growth mindset’ which encourages juveniles to try hard and believe in the process. This results in children in the growth mindset culture to push themselves and set more challenging goals. For example, younger students who do not have a growth mindset may set their target universities as only what they are already familiar with; in contrast, those who believe in trying to want to apply to top-ranking universities. On the other hand, if children relied on their efforts purely but did not reach the point they wanted, they would be desperate. Being successful does not actually depend on effort solely, there are many factors affecting achievements such as funds, opportunities, and timing. If children do not consider those points and believe in themselves too much, they will be disappointed dramatically and this can lead to more dangerous situations such as suicide. For example, the number of children killing themselves in the countries that push them and pressure them too much is much higher than those that do not. In conclusion, while telling children that they can reach their goals with enough effort can help them set more ambitious goals and lead to be more successful in their lives, they can be disappointed by not considering other factors.