Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, more and more people tend to be self-employed rather than to work in a company or organisation. Generally, there will always be drawbacks in every choice that they make, it totally depends on individuals which path they want to take. Although self-employment certainly has its disadvantages, there are still plenty of benefits resulting from it. There are many reasons why people prefer to be one’s own boss. It definitely has many things to offer, from allowing people to indulge their own passions and ideas into business, giving them time flexibility, to creating job vacancies and benefitting even more people. It grows people ’s creativity and challenges the catalysts to do something more impactful rather than just sitting in a nine-to-five job as a “corporate’s slave”. However, establishing a business is never an easy task, it requires a lot of exertion, one must be ready to fail and thrive several times. A number of challenges must be faced, for instance, the difficulty in finding reliable partners and clients, limited support and expertise, as well as pressure of managing all aspects in the business. In addition to that, self-employed individuals mostly are vulnerable to instability such as lack of job security where there is no guarantee of continued work if clients decline or projects end. Furthermore, they typically don’t receive paid leave or other benefits like health insurance and retirement plans. In conclusion, being self-employed has its own benefits and weaknesses, but I believe the advantages cause a greater impact not only to the ones who do it but also to the people around them. It can boost the nation’s economy by creating job vacancies as well as enhancing limitless ideas and creativities that support a country's development.