The number of employees working from home with the help of technology has grown in many countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There has been an increase in the trend of employees working remotely due to advancement in technology in recent times. Employee has the benefit of convenience and it is more environmentally sustainable. There are some drawbacks though, such as boredom and less social relationships with colleagues. Working from the comfort of home simply means it would be convenient for worker as he or she would not have to travel miles to reach to workplace. This is in fact a great advantage because there is a lot of time saved from travelling. There would be less expenses because they do not need to spend money for fuel expenses and clothing. Additionally, not going to the office also helps the environment to be more cleaner and fresh as there would be less greenhouse gases emition in the air. If there are less vehicles on the road, the air quality index increases which is very crucial for people's health and wellness. For example, in Delhi, the people saw a dramatic change in the air quality index when people were working from homes during the pandemic of Covid-19. While it brings some benefits, not working from a workplace also brings some drawbacks like boredom because a person has to spend their entire day at one place and it is stressful. Someone can get more refreshed if he or she can meet different kinds of people, especially their colleagues and friends. It is also seen that sometimes it leads to low productivity levels in the performance. It becomes harder to learn from other people due to less communication, which is necessary for professional growth. Additionally, working from home also means the family members will be present, and it can become more distracting, again leading to low productivity. To conclude, getting a remote job brings it own advantages and disadvantages like every other thing in this world. While it is the most convenient option as it saves time and money, and environment friendly due to less air pollution by vehicles; it can also become boring in the long run with less social relationships and can lead to low productivity levels.