Expert say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with their family and friends, whereas, now many suffer loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

Experts say that now many elderly people experience loneliness and health problems, while in the past they were more happy and healthy because they were physically active and spent more time with their loves ones. This essay intends to discuss the reasons and solutions to this problem. There are many reasons why elderly people do not participate in physical activites activity. To begin with, due to advancements in technology old people like to spend most of their time in comfort of their homes. They are more interested in watching a movie, sport or listen to news on the TV. This has made older generation of today lazy as compared to older generations in the past. This has led to an increase in a number of health problems like diabetes, high blood pressure and heart diseases. Modern lifestyle is having a negative effect on old aged individuals today. The second reason is lack of contact with family members. Nowadays, humans live in nuclear families. Individuals usually leave their parents or grandparents to live alone. This has led to old individuals feeling isolated and lonely. They do not have anyone to share their feelings. This results in older generation of today being less happy. The solutions are not easy. Old people should be encouraged to do exercises. They should be made aware of benefits of exercising in old age. Moreover, this way they can prevent many diseses if they takecare of their health. Also, family members should always keep in contact with the elderly. Even if they are not living with them, they should make a phone call and ask them about their day to day happenings in their lives. This will make the older people feel loved and valued. To conclude, although there are many reasons why elderly are unhappy and unhealthy today, yet I believe this problem can be solved if they do engage themselves in exercise and spent more time with friends and family.