Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, inevitable demand to interact and exchange information makes communication a vital part of our society. There has been a controversial debate to show whether verbal or written language is a more powerful form of communication. In my opinion, I argue that neither of the forms could be said to be superior since they have particular effects and nuances depending on specific circumstances. On the one hand, speeches have been used as effective tools to convey feelings, expressions and thoughts to a large number of people as they allow speakers to emotionally connect with their listeners. By changing the tone of voice and making gestures, speakers could convey their wide range of emotions that would inspire and influence others through a powerful speech, song or poetry. For instance, in the past, after President Ho Chi Minh read the Declaration of Independence in Ba Dinh square, all Vietnamese residents filled with hope and determination by the warm, moved and passion voice of their Great Father. Moreover, spoken communication would create few confusions and misunderstandings since words and grammar used in verbal language are simpler and clearer than non-verbal one. When people interact face to face, they would immediately ask for more advice and information about problems that they are struggling with, avoiding undesirable misunderstanding. On the other hand, writing is also a mandatory factor that appears in everyday communication. In the workplace, institutions, written messages, emails and documents are effective tools, while spoken communication might sometimes be ignored or changed after interpretation, written forms consistently maintain their formality and clarity. Hence, written communication is required in legal procedures and important information such as memos, reports or research are often kept in written form. Besides, as the separation and impartiality of the written form, it can create more insightful feelings and detailed meanings that make people engage in deeper and more mature content. For example, reading stories and novels will convey different feelings and emotions to each person, if you read such written forms thoroughly you would find details and implications that provoke your mind. In conclusion, I argue that speeches and written word have their own purposes, benefits and drawbacks in specific situation; therefore, it cannot be said that one is more powerful than the other.