Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Children nowadays spend hours daily in front of a screen. My firm belief is that this is a negative development. To begin with, kids today devote a huge part of their day on their smartphones. Some of them even spend over eight to nine hours over their phones. This is considered without a doubt a negative development since it has affected children both physically and mentally. Children devote many hours on their phones, playing games, watching videos and chatting with their friends, they avoid exercise and in some cases have to deal with obesity issues. Kids at this age should spend more time studying and playing with their friends than sitting in front of a screen. Unfortunately, this is not the case for many young ones. Lots of children today have neglected both school courses and their friends. This not only has a negative development for their studies but some researchers have also studied this development and have reported that kids with such habits find it difficult sometimes to make any new social relationships. All in all, in our days, children spend many hours of their day on their smartphones, playing games, watching videos and chatting. From my perspective this is considered a negative development for several reasons. Kids sitting all day in front of their phones, they do not exercise, in some cases they deal with obesity issues, they neglect their studies and sometimes they even find it hard to make new friends.