In the past, most people spend their entire career working for one company, whereas people nowadays move from one job to another. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each? Which do you think is better?

Previously, many individuals used to work for one firm throughout their lifetime. However, today people change jobs frequently. This essay intends to discuss pros and cons of both situations. However, I side with the latter view. On one hand, people who spend their entire career at one company do so because they want to show that they are loyal and reliable to the workplace. Firstly, if a person is working at one place for a very long time it is easier for the employer to trust him. One is more likely to get a promotion or a pay raise if he is working for ages. On the negative side, a person might not be able to explore other better opportunities. This results in a very limited scope of developing at an individual level. On the other hand, many people feel it is beneficial to change jobs. Working at one job can be very boring. Moreover a person will get know about various company's workings. This will expand their knowledge. A person will get more diverse opinions from their coworkers. Each new workplace teaches a different approach to handle problems this will improve a person's problem solving skill. Nonetheless, there are drawbacks as well. A person might find it very difficult to switch jobs and learn new ways to do tasks. An individual will not be able to excel in one specific skill. To conclude, although there are both benefits and drawbacks for both circumstances yet I believe that changing jobs is better option for career growth.