In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been universally known that public transportation is one of the main issues for governments to focus on. While Some people argue that public grants should be spent on constructing new fast line railways for trains between cities, others believe funding for improvement of existing public transports. I believe former view would benefit the citizens to a larger extent. On the one side, according to some people especially the elderly population, keeping the older system at any cost is better and fixing old devices in the key. The deep reason is anything familiar to them brings them a sentimental feeling. For instance, a nursery home in Niece, which was planning a 3 day excursion from France to London for a group of disabled elderly members, was obliged to book bus ticket instead of fast train tickets. Despite the disability condition of members and the trains providing faster and convenient services, they all relied on the old bus system and buying tickets on paper because they were used to it. On the flip side, technological vehicles have almost a set age to work. Therefore, after a certain number of years the cost of the maintenance and accident risks outweighs the benefits of running them. Moreover, with the rise of technology, some options of buying tickets online, checking the departure and arrival time, convenience and security with the camera around the stations makes the fast train lines a more user-friendly and popular choice. A survey conducted online, showed that 90% of the population in europe agreed on funding newer railway lines and everyone was eager and inclined to pay higher price for tickets in addition to higher tax revenues in order to launch the mentioned lines earlier. In conclusion, the support of the elderly population to spend a large amount of money on current public transportation is understandable because of their over-reliance on older things. However, the majority in the society including me believe that new fast-line railways must be funded to provide a new and higher quality trains between cities.