Living in large cities today poses many problems for people. What are these problems? Should governments encourage more people to live in smaller towns?

People living in large cities are faced with many problems these days. These problems require citizens to be able to effectively cope with higher stress compared with people who reside in smaller towns. However, encouraging more people to live in suburban areas or small cities will not be a significant solution. In my opinion, the typical challenges of living in large cities are the high living cost and the low air quality. Big corporations are mainly headquartered in large cities resulting in a higher number of job opportunities become available with higher salaries compared with the smaller cities. In my country, Jakarta for instance, is where corporates and big businesses are located in, which attract people from rural areas with the expectation to improve their quality of lifes life. On the contrary, the limited availability of lands contributes to the increase in rent price, in a way that makes the ratio of rent price and household income inappropriate. Although it does not always happen in big cities, a dense population also drives a massive use of transporation vehicles which leads to a more pollution being released to the air. As long as there are imbalance and inequality in the development of cities in one country, encouraging people to live in smaller towns will not be an effective solution. Govenment should ensure that the infrastructure in small cities are adequate so that it can be attractive for individuals and also businesses. In addition, authorities also need to provide enough schools or any educational institutions in order to make on city sustainable. On the other hand, big cities need to be equipped with sufficient public transport and public recreational spaces so that it can reduce air pollution, and the latter can help improve the wellbeing of the overall citizens. In conclusion, the high cost of living and the low air quality in large cities are the main problems that hinder citizen to live a good life. Therefore, balancing the development of facilities and infrastructures in suburban areas and cities accross the nation are crucial to reduce these arising problems.