Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have negative impacts on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A number of people argue that social media platforms influence adolescents in a negative way, while others believe that it is advantageous to have these sites at a young age. Although using social media can lead to health problems and stop the young person from making new friends, I strongly believe that with the help of these media individuals can find more friends who share their interests. On the one hand, young people who are always on their phones chatting with peers or just scrolling Instagram reels, can have serious health problems such as headaches or deteriorated vision.1 Moreover, teenagers who are always online are seen to have problems with real-life communication. Often these adolescents are scared of making a first step and getting acquainted with other peers at school or in parks.2 In social media, individuals can be fake people and lie about their lives. For instance, many people try to look wealthy while being poor. However, in real life young people need to be honest with their friends to gain their trust. Thus, some boys and girls find it difficult to tell the truth about themselves due to lack of money or hobbies, for example. The young just think that they are not interesting enough for others.3 On the other hand, it is common practice to find new friends with the same interests in social media. Almost everybody has one or more platforms. There are a lot of communities on these social sites. If teenagers want to make new friends who enjoy the same things, they can search them in various groups. For example, many boys and girls have online friends which they have found in TikTok or Instagram just commenting on videos that they liked. Usually, this friendship develops with time and these adolescents can call each other best friends.4 To conclude, although having social media at a young age can lead to serious health problems and tend adolescents to be scared of making new friends, I believe that social media sites are beneficial places to find peers who share their hobbies and like the same things.5