The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

There are some organizations which are experimenting with new ways of working such as shortening the weekdays and extending weekends. While working in a shorter week is liked by some employees, this phonemenon has not really caught up on a wider scale. I am not in favor of having such work arragement arrangements and I will delineate the reasons for it. Firstly, working in there or four days a week make seem attractive but it's important to note that total number of working hours in a week remain the same irrespective of number of working days. So employees need to spend extra hours during the week to compensate for an extra day off. This may make workers more stressful during those days and may impact the mental health in long-term. Secondly, in many cross-functional projects, very close collaboration is required across multiple teams. If flexibility is provided to some employees to skip a day in lieu of extra hours spent earlier, it will hamper the overall team work as many queries pending on them would not be answered on those days. So the overall project deliverables and timelines get delayed. Lastly, working extra long hours on few days and not working at all on the remaining three days results in lack of discipline and consistency of the employee as they have a very different schedule for the long weekend. This contrasting schedule may confuse the mind and the body clock, impacting the overall mental well-being. To summarize, companies may gain some goodwill of few workers who avail this new style of working, but eventually it may prove to be detrimental for both company and empolyee. Organization may not achieve its objectives of timely delivery and worker's health may get negatively impacted in long-term.