Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion, give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Many people opine that History is one of the most important subjects because it helps us understand the past while also showing the development of cultures and civilizations, while others argue that in our modern world, Science and Technology are more important than the former. In this essay we will be analyzing both views of this debate then presenting my opinion. As we know, the past is a key thing to learn, as we learn historical events, examine how the old days has shaped and continues to shape global, national and local relationships between societies and people, additionally learning the causes of wars and the revolution that took place in the past, we can inspect human behaviours in these times and how they handled it. For instance, with learning the history of medicine and healthcare, now doctors can learn previous mistakes, therefore leading to better ways to preform surgeries or handling with a specific illness. On the other hand, like we know one of the most important if not the most important factor in our generation is Technology, as we use social media, electronic devices, and so much more on a daily basis, so we consider Science and Technology to have more importance today due to the fact they solve real problems. As exemplified by, we used scientific experiments to find a vaccine saving the lives of millions of individuals. The thing is with this argument, is that History can help enhance Technology, and Technology and Science can help discover new historical artifacts, such as examining the age of a specific fossil, we can use science experiments for that, similarly we can use history to offer context for technological advancements and so on. To conclude this difference in opinions, History plays an important role in our cultural identity, while Science and Technology is pivotal in the modern times, in that case we can say they are both valuable subjects, each serving its own purpose.