Internet technology means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Due to rapid technological developments, knowledge can be broaden by surfing the Internet instead of visiting distant lands. I strongly disagree with this opinion. With only online information, people might not interact directly with new things, and they are only restricted to others' experiences. By travelling, people can use all of their senses to learn about their destinations. In other words, they not only see but also smell, hear and touch artefacts that they find on their trips. For instance, when coming to Egypt, foreigners can discover the odors, the autographies autographic and the materials of ancient and mysterious pyramids that not every journalist records on papers and posts to the Internet. Hence, people are more likely to study their interests deeply when they choose to explore rather than reading news. In addition, individuals have different thoughts and analysis when sightseeing. If people rely completely on others' perspectives and do not later verify information, they are going to express similar feelings and opinons, which might get themelves purposely directed. Due to political reasons, many newspapers used to hide impressive evolvement images of Vietnam to fool their readers that the country is still dangerous and poor. Many foreigners who believed those false facts online now realize that Vietnam is actually one of the fastest-developing nation in the world. In conclusion, the Internet does not outweigh travelling in helping people explore other societies. The prime reasons are: people need to experience new things with different senses and have contrasting opinions from online news.