Many people around the world use social media everyday to keep in touch with other people and get news events Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that social platforms significantly help global citizens communicate with others and update daily news. In my opinion, this offers more drawbacks than benefits. Human beings can get isolated from real life and depend excessively on untrustworthy online sources of information. The Internet causes its users to get addicted to cyberspace and gain fake news. After long hours surfing the social media, many people find it too convenient and comfortable to return to reality where they are not treated as nicely as online accounts do. For instance, public forums and communities like Messenger allow texting and video calling instead of face-to-face talks, thereby facilitating the introverts to always stay there without actively participating in important real-life debates and discussions. In addition, people rely on the media where news can be purposely directed by policial forces. If foreigners had not travelled to China, they would have unlikely recognized the development of the country because many Western presses showed negative views towards the Chinese government. In contrast, social media offers smart features to enhance global interactions and knowledge expansion. Young generations do not accept to surrender geographical obstacles, so they are satisfied with how the Internet transmit their texts or calls to their international friends. However, people might focus too much on sharing images to the public through Instagram or Locket, which takes a huge amount of time that they can spend with their families instead. Another prime advantage is that people can learn about distant lands without travelling to there. However, this convenience does not motivate self-study in the long run; hence, the worldwide intelligence decreases. Overall, daily use of online forums create advantages, but they are outweighed by the disadvantages. This is because users might prefer cyberspace than reality and give wrong conclusions supported by media sources.