Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In this modern world, we are entering an era where working for a company is getting overlooked as many people prefer to be self-employed. There are several factors that drive self-employment gaining more popularity in our society. However, as good as it might get, being self-employed may pose challenges for young-emerging entrepreneurs. I believe the rapid rise of this self-employed-trend happened because of many resources and tools have become easily accessible enabled by technology. For instance, from a student standpoint, school materials can be obtained from online platforms such as Google and Youtube. Moreover, the advancement of technology like Artificial Intelligence help people improve their productivity. There are many technology-enabled tools that have the capability to help entrepreneurs with administrative tasks in a more efficient manner. Older generations did not have enough access to these resources as we are now. Despite the availability of many helpful tools, there are certain drawbacks of being entrepreneurs including the lack of stability and the limitation in professional development. Working for companies provide better job security as employees receive consistent income every month, with the opportunity for salary increase and bonuses as well. Employees are often eligible for several benefits such as vehicles and health insurance whereas entrepreneurs need to pay for themselves. From professional development point of view, working independently requires more effort and cost to obtain certain training, while working in a company allows employees to get access to training programs and learning opportunities. In conclusion, the advancement of technology has helped people to be self-employed despite several drawbacks it might bring. People need to give a proper consideration before making decision regarding their professional career and prepare for setbacks that may be caused by the instability from becoming an entrepreneur.