Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that some people find that the primary purpose of a building should be taken in consideration over how it looks to the public when it is in the design phase. This essay firmly disagrees with this statement, standing on the bases that it should look appealing to the public. Factors such as its architectural design and use of different colours play a role in the final criteria of a modern day building. Looking at our planet history, ancient structures are not praised for their simple features and function but rather for thier magnificent structural designs. Modern-day building that have been constructed by focusing on their outer appearance tend to grasp more attention of the public causing an increase of feet through the doors due to curiosity. The tallest building in the world, which is situated in Dubai is not visited due to its 340 flight of stairs but rather for their out of the ordinary look. Using a specific combination of colours will attract people to a building and cause a more fitting scene to the environment. Just like bees that are attracted to the beautiful colours of flowers, so are humans to building. Studies find that 80% of people will feel more comfortable in a building that's outer appearance is painted. A building that is painted with colours complimenting each, such as white and grey, will be more attractive than and plain building that has no coated layers on the outside. In conclusion factors such as the colour combination and unique design feature overpowers the importance of the function of a building making appearance more applicable.