Some people believe that students should take a gap year after finishing school and work or travel during this period. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of individuals that are suggesting that studetns should take a gap year to pursue other activitis. while some may strongly disagree saying that it is a waste of time.From my perspective it is a necessary step. To begin, there is an arguement to be made that by allowing students to work or travel during their gap year, it provides them a chance to be mentally prepared for the work ahead. For example, if a medical student is allowed an internship at a hospital it will let him visualize the path he is pursuing and therefore be more dedicated to his education. For this reason, it is evident that working after finishing school is not a waste of time but more so a means to learn outside basic textbooks and computer screen allowing students to broaden their know opinions. what is more, if a new graduate is allowed to travel, it will provide him with a way to relieve his exhaustion and return to his education witha fresh and energized mind. This being the case, if we hinder students to take a break, they will be burdened under immense work and not have a clear picture of what they want to pursue. In addition to this, it must be stated that the general population belives that a gap year is a waste of time and students should immediately move on to the next step of their education but this has clear downsides. For example, a study done in thailand showed that 61% of students forced to attend university right after highschol high school dropped out after their 2nd semester. With this evidence, it is clear that the majority of students cannot cope with the immense burden of university right after finishing highschool. Furthermore, a large group of graduates find their life goals without ever needing higher education such as working in customer service, at oil rigs or as a nanny. with this in mind, there is no doubt that their are numerous benefits of taking a break after ending school but very few cons. To conclude, the overwhelming evidence seems to suggest that fresh diploma holders should be allowed the time to broaden their horizon and not be tied to the rat race of moving on to the next step without weighing their options as many find the meaning and passion of their lives during this small but meaningful break.