It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In recent years, the way we shop has changed dramatically.With the trend of shopping on-line, the retail shopkeepers face challenges due to low footfall and employment opportunities. This essay will examine this affect in detail and provide suggestions to overcome this menace. Firstly, due to the convenience of online shopping, people frequent less to their local markets. This has led to slowdown of customers for local shops resulting in less sales and consequently reduced income. With rising costs of inflation coupled with less money, it becomes difficult for a storekeeper to survive in this competition society. Moreover, the rate of unemployment has risen as there is hardly any work for the employees in the shops if there are no customers. For instance, a popular dairy shop has recently shut its doors with the opening of a new superstore near it. This is because, a customer prefers to shop from a commercial centre where he gets an opportunity to purchase all items in its list as co.pared to a dairy shop where he would only find dairy products. This saves his time and energy. Although shopping from big stores has gained popularity but there are possible solutions to this problem. The government should offer grants to local shops to run thir business, so that it becomes affordable and the rate of unemployment declines. Additionally, shopkeepers should deploy good marketing strategies and promote their products by offering competitive price rates and offering free he deliveries. This will encourage the buyer to buy products from their community. In conclusion, with the government efforts and retailers attitude, local shopping can be promoted. Despite the merits of shopping on the Internet, the real shopping still has its own charm.