Many students now work whilst they are studying in college or university. This often results in them having less time to concentrate on their education as feeling under pressure. What are some of the causes of this? What solution could you suggest?

Learning while you earn has been a popular concept for many years particularly in Western countries. This work style generally leads to less study time which could burden the students with stress, anxiety and isolation. This essay will examine these causes in detail and provide suggestions to overcome them. One major cause of working while studying is the increase in the stress levels.These pressures could be in the form of financial, emotional and physical. To meet the high cost of education and compete in the fast-paced society, it becomes obligatory for a teenager to make money from this tender age. In this race, he gets drained out physically as sleep patterns could be disturbed, diet gets affected and even exercise routine gets compromised. This often leads to frustration and anxiety, making the person emotionally unstable. A recent study by University of Wateeloo revealed that 5% students commit suicide each year as they are unable to maintain a work -life balance. Another leading cause to this simultaneous study while working mode is the lack of social interactions. Due to paucity of time, adolescents struggle to spend time with their friends and family members. The lack of expressing their feelings and sharing their emotions, makes them isolated and they experience the pain all by themselves. To counter these issues, it is necessary that work hours should be monitored strictly. More focus on education should be given priority. For instance, in Canada, students can work only 24 hours a week while pursuing their studies. This gives them enough time to manage their social, work and student life. In conclusion, acquiring knowledge and gaining relevant experience is important part of education but not at the cost of health. Thus, a balanced approach is the best solution.