University students often focus on one subject. However, some people think that universities sholud encourage students to learn a range of other subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of tertiary education has been widely debated in recent years. Some assert that scholars consider only one subject as their focal point, while others argue that they should recognise the number of other subjects. In my opinion, I strongly believe that being more expert in one field, and acquiring knowledge about another range of study, are equally important. The following factors highlight why my perspective is valid and should be considered. On the one hand, the compelling reason is becoming more expert in one field of study. This is because the majority of students want to pursue higher degrees in that particular field and be specialised in that area, which enhances their thorough understanding of the subject. For instance, more than half of the scholars in Australia enrol only in one subject to get more success and deeper knowledge of the one unit. Consequently, they get a wider scope for studying the different aspects of one area of study. On the other hand, there are a series of other units which students should also consider. As all the subjects are interconnected to each other. A good example is, if an aspirant is studying biology, they must know other areas of learning, such as chemistry and physics, as these are interrelated and various aspects of these two units contribute to biology for getting comprehensive recognition of the science. Hence, students must have an idea about the areas of geography, science and law, which are imperative for knowing about the world. To conclude, the impact of studying one area of further education, along with studying a variety of subjects, for knowing about the different aspects of life, proves that they are beneficial. Thus, recognising their actions and impact is justified, emphasising the need to acknowledge this view.