In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is said that, in the future, nobody will purchase newspapers or books because they will be available without any payment. I agree with this statement to some extent, as I believe that reading from a physical material will remain a preference for some people, while reduction in this trend will be inevitable. To begin with, it is obvious that reading online is more straightforward. A person does not need to make any particular effort in order to obtain a material. Owing to the advancements in technology, readers can easily get access to any online materials. Moreover, there are wide varieties of online resources available via internet, and individuals can read anything with the help of one device instead of buying countless books and newspapers. Furthermore, to get a book or newspaper, an individual needs to go out and spend some time in order to buy the necessary one. Online materials help to save time. In contrast, online materials cannot replace physical materials as it is still and will still be a preference for some people. Some find it quite difficult to read online. They try to get actual materials to engage in reading. Otherwise, they would give up on this kind of activity. They argue that to be more productive, they need to touch materials and feel it. Additionally, they believe that reading online may be much detrimental for their eyesight and contribute to blindness. In conclusion, I think that people who read online will outnumber offline readers as it is evident that online reading is easier, cheaper and more available. However, it is not the case that it will entirely halt the production of books and newspapers as it is much easier for some people to read from real books and newspapers.