Essay Question 14: Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does the plastic do to the environment? What can be done by the government and individuals to solve the problem?

Non-biodegradable waste has become a serious threat to the world in last five decades. In this contemporary epoch, it has been reckoned by experts that plastic litter, such as bags, bottles and packaging are extremely dangerous for the nature. This essay will elucidate the harm done by it, and will share the steps that government and people can take to solve the problem in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, plastic waste causes water pollution. To expound, the discarded shopping bags, soft drink bottles and gift packaging sheets gets dumped into landfills from where it find its way in water streams, such as lakes and oceans. It not only makes the water unfit to be used but also gets ingested by marine life, like sharks and whales, and causes disease and death. To exemplify, only 52% of the total water on earth is fit for consumption in 2022 as compared to 76% in 2000, which leads to death of 76000 water organisms due to plastic ingestion every year. Hence, the above mentioned example justifies the danger of plastic to the environment.  To combat this problem, government should ban usage of plastic while individuals ought to think of its alternatives which are ecofriendly. In other words, if the ruling party puts a blanket ban on the use of non-degradable material, the amount of waste will also reduce substantially, which can help the waste management bodies to do their task efficiently. In addition to it, masses should replace plastic items with paper or fabric bags, paper straws and degradable packaging sheets. They should make a considerable effort to buy and use alternatives in order to save the environment. To cite an example, in India, the leaders banned plastic in 2019 which lead people to come up with innovative ideas of using jute bags and straws made of banana leaves. Thus, the aforementioned ways vividly justifies what efforts are needed to make Earth a better place to live in. To recapitulate, as plastic litter doesn’t get decomposed even for hundreds of years, it is causing harm to the nature excessively. Thousands of sea creatures are losing their life because of it, which can be dealt with little efforts of government and conscious buying by citizens.