Some argue that children's leisure activities should be educational, while others believe that they should be purely enjoyable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, it has been vital for children to engage themselves in leisure activities. Some groups of people think that children should do education-related activities during their free time. Whereas, others believe that having fun is extremely necessary while doing leisure activities. I will discuss both views with related examples and also provide my opinion in the following essay. To begin with, there are several reasons that can be considered to support this. First and foremost, one can build up interest in their favourite subjects in their academics. Therefore, they can achieve good grades, which can be beneficial for them for their future career goals. For instance, a study by the University of Waterloo mentioned that nowadays 60% of children prefer to spend their spare time in educational projects or activities for their betterment. Furthermore, educational activities can be helpful to youngsters to improve their communication, decision-making, problem-solving, and many more Skills. On the other hand, spending leisure time for those types of activities which provide joy to children is also important in present times. The main reason is that children can feel relaxed and find peace by doing their most liked things in their spare time. Due to that, they feel motivated and focused during their study and important work. Not only that, other curriculum and interactive activities can be helpful to children to enhance their skills and get more experience. To illustrate, Mr Patel received gold medals and achieved success in both academics and swimming by managing his time correctly for studies as well as swimming practise in his free time. To conclude, according to my opinion, having fun by doing leisure activities has more merits for children rather than always engaging self in educational purposes. Besides this, it is essential for children to have their spare time purely enjoyable for their mind and body.