Some people think that the increase in the number of obese people should be the responsibility of the governments, while others think it should be the responsibility of individuals.

There is no question that every individual should look after themselves and live a healthy lifestyle. It’s vital for people to take care of both their mental and physical health in order to live a happy and fulfilling life. Talking about physical health, nowadays it’s starting to get really difficult to maintain it. Things like technology, the internet and fast- food can affect a person in many bad ways. Problems like poor vision, diseases like diabetes, infertility and obesity are more vibrant than ever. Particularly, the increase of obese people has raised the question - whether the government or the individual is responsible for it. Firstly, in my opinion it mostly depends on the individual. A person's view of themselves and values are the features that decide how they look after their body and mind. They are in charge of what they consume and how much effort they put in physically exercising. Obesity is caused mainly by consuming unhealthy amounts of food, that lack in nutrition and have too much sugar or carbs. To avoid that, a person must learn discipline and mindfulness of self-harm. Not only that, but they have the ability to exercise, strengthen their body and get into shape, which also requires discipline and determination. It’s important for the individual to look after their health by themselves. However, I do believe that the government should also feel responsible for this rise. The government has the ability to educate their citizens and make choices that take care of their welfare. They could introduce food regulations and laws that restrict unhealthy food imports with food additives that harm and increase the chance of obesity. Organizing events and programmes can motivate people to live healthy and be thoughtful. National sport day event, swimming pool open doors day, free sports club memberships and programmes about healthy diets etc. The government can also provide medical support and insurance. The government has the power and tools to help individuals battle obesity and other concerning problems. To summarize, in my opinion it all comes down to the person and how they decide to take care of themselves. It’s their responsibility and factually only they can do something about their physical health. Despite that, the government is responsible to help their people practice a healthy lifestyle. It is beneficial to both the person and the government to battle obesity and other issues concerning an individual's health.