Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Many offenders who break the law after serving their punishment in prison, again enter the jail for a new felony. This is due to a lack of opportunities outside the jail to start a new life, and psychological issues lead to repeating the same problems. A lot of solutions to stop this problem should be established by decision-makers and the government. The first reason to break the rules multiple times without learning from the punishment is the limited chances outside prison life to build habits and life without mistakes. In other words, people who have a history in prison may have difficulty getting a job due to their past of breaking low rules which leads to financial issues and more rules breaking. As well as, obstacles to finding a partner and establishing a family as new people will be scared to start a relationship with criminals, which leads them to be lonely and at high risk of addiction or another crime. The second reason for repeated crimes by the same criminal is mental illness. People who have psychological trauma, or have difficult life socially or economically are at high risk of breaking the rules if not treated by psychological specialists in a rehabilitation centre. So, putting them in jail without treating them will cause serious problems for the community. There is a two solutions to tackle this problem. One way through making the criminal history private nobody can know about his past activity unless those who did a serious felony could affect the community. Moreover, give them apportunities to find work to be financially dependent on themselves without judging them by their past. The other way to solve this issue is to evaluate the mental health of each criminal and make sure they receive the appropriate treatment for their conditions. By doing this we reduce the crime rates that happened from mentally ill patients and support financially their treatment as it costs them depending on their condition. In conclusion, people who keep breaking the rules may suffer from community judgment that prevents them from starting a new life, or they already have mental issues not been treated. The government and decision makers need to support them by keeping their prison lives private and offering treatment to them.