In future, people may longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by cards or by phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

Advancement in technology has changed every aspect of human life, finance and business are no exception. In this contemporary epoch, it has been reckoned by experts that in future, people will only be able to make payments using cards or by smartphones, and cash will not be used to pay for the commodities bought from the shops. This essay will elucidate that prediction cannot be turned into reality, and will also discuss the testaments that why many would be unhappy to give up cash in the subsequent paragraph. To commence with, it is nearly impossible that populace will be denied of using cash because not everybody is comfortable using technology in daily life. In other words, if transaction has to be made through portals,people need prior knowledge of using them. To cite an example, to transfer money to another account using card or smartphones, passwords should be remembered and mobile applications have to be pre-installed in phones, which is a tedious task for older generation. It requires not only more time but also effort, which senior citizens and children are resistive to. Thus, the aforementioned example clearly substantiates why such major changes cannot happen in future. Some individuals might not be comfortable giving up using cash as using payment portals/gateways increases the chances of cybercrime. To expound, if there is restriction of on making payment through physical currency, the probability of fraud through phone calls confirming account details will skyrocket, thus making it difficult to differentiate between the genuine and forged caller. To exemplify, most of the cases of cybercrime reported are done through fake calls requesting account details such as passwords, OTPs(one time passwords) and account number. Such offenders target senior citizens and young children because of less awareness of cyber complaint cells and their rights to complaint. Hence, the above mentioned reason vividly substantiates why individuals do not welcome this advancement joyfully. To recapitulate, many believe that using cash will become obsolete in future and would be taken over by cards and smartphones apps although I disagree to this notion. Most of the population would not find it easy and reliable to be dependent on digital payment method, so would be unwelcoming of this transition.