The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to technological advances, there are numerous types of social media application introduced. While there is no doubt that these applications benefit humans in different aspects, like communicating with family members, making new friends, and developing their own business, I believe that there would be catastrophic if we excessively focus on online platforms. In contemporary society, social media facilitates seamless communication around the world, this fact maintains and improves connections between people to people regardless of physical location. For example, individuals limited by some factors, such as career obligations, academic pursuits, and time constraints, can keep in touch with their family or close friends by virtual dialogues when missing them or even suffering from some difficulties thereby needing encouragement and advice. Also, those wanting to meet a new friend sharing the same hobbies can browse a variety of group in Facebook. This method can help them join the specific online group in which those having same interests effectively. Furthermore, the young prefer to start their business on social media platforms. Running a live program or podcast, they open up infinite possibilities to interact with audience, thereby increasing loyal fun bases to generate income. Although these benefits boost the number of people utilizing social media, this increasing trend causes those extremely engross in their devices, leading to a series of negative effect. Take the young generation for example, teenagers spending lot of time on phone tend to neglect the individuals presenting near them. This situation will hamper authentic relationships, as a result, fostering a culture of isolation. In addition, to be more convenient, those addicted to technology love abusing abbreviation and emotion, for instance, replacing " thanks" with "THK". This can impair the young's linguistic skills, thereby causing communication barrier. This means that they may misunderstand and feel discomfort in some formal contexts, ranging from academic classes to international conferences. In conclusion, although social media improves efficiency of communication in various scenarios, including family, friendship, and business, abusing them will cause serious problems, which warrant reflection and action.