Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to counsume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In the current world, food and drink products that contain high levels of sugar have become increasingly common. As a result, many people, who eat in big amounts, can develop health problems. According to this, it is agreed that sugary products should be more expensive, therefore individuals will avoid buying them. In this essay, this issue will be discussed and I will present my way of seeing this problem. Firstly, it is widely known the terrible consequences of excessive sugar consumption. Diabetes, obesity and tooth decay, to name just a few, are the most common health problems linked to sugary foods. For instance, scientific studies have shown that children under two years old, who are exposed to chocolate, cakes and candies have more chance to develop chronic diseases later in life. For this reason, increasing the cost of these products could avoid these serious consequences. Ideally, it also will encourage parents to prioritize their health to inspire their sons. Furthermore, associated with this view, healthy meals should have affordable prices to improve access to them. The main advantage of these decisions is a healthier population, reducing the spending on healthcare systems. For example, Mexico implemented a national tax on sugary drinks in 2014, and it has been associated with a decrease in consumption. Happily, this thought is already true in some countries and is noticed a better lifestyle. In summary, although there are disagreeing opinions on increasing the price of sugary products, the benefits surpass the drawbacks. In my perspective, a society which is concerned about their food is also worried about their health and the result is their own well-being.