These days, older people who have retired often choose to spend money on themselves rather than save money for their children. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no denying the fact that modern life has changed family dynamics in terms of money spending aspect. Some may aruge that retired workers should spend their money on themselves rather than their kids. From my point of view, this is a positive development as it prioritize peronal enjoyment and also children's self-independence. This essay will discuss these reasons in detail with illustrative examples. One notable advantage for older people paying themselves is that it promotes their personal enjoyment. In other words, while working they gave all the efforts in their jobs to gain this money, so it is the time for self reward. For example, retired individuals could use this money to open a business line that they have always dreamed of. Ultimately, this benefit is not only limit to the individuals, but also their families and provides them with a high-quality of life. Another point, although it is their responsibility to take care of children, this action could help in supporting young people to be more self-independent. For instance, nowadays, kids are relying so much on their partents in everything, especially money. Thus, growing up dependent could lead to lack of the understanding of money value. In conclusion, it is undeniable that parents are responsible for their kids. However, it is unfair to prevent themselves from enjoying their payback and reward their youngers. One benefit of spending earned money is that they get to experience the joyful part of life. Beside that, it also help developing the sense of self-independence in their children to be more responsible and careful. All in all, while this developement has its drawbacks, I believe the hidden benefits are greater.