Some people say that manufacturers and supermarkets should take the responsibility of reducing the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should take responsibility and avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the rising amount of waste, some people argue that packaging of goods should be the responsibility of manufacturers and supermarkets, while other people argue that this is customers responsibility. I agree with the statement that this issue is a collective effort between manufacturers, supermarkets and customers and I will discuss both of these opinions with relevant examples. Manufacturers and supermarkets are the producers of these packs and they have full control over the amount of packaging that will be produced. It is reasonable to point out that reducing waste should be their responsibility. For instance, they can find the right amount of production based on the demand to avoid over-supplied. With this effort, the packaging of goods can be reduced through the production process. On the other hand, customers who consume and buy goods also have the same obligations to reduce the consumption of packaging. Often, customers buy something out of impulsiveness, they don't though of the waste that will be produced out of a packaging. To prevent this, the easiest way is to be mindful of what they are buying and avoid any unnecessary shopping. For instance, an individual can make a list of priorities before buying groceries so they can just buy anything that is primary. Hence, this will also push to reduce packaging of goods from the consumers side. In conclusion, I agree with both of these views, because reducing the waste of packaging of goods should be a collective effort. From manufacturers and supermarkets they can have a precise projection so they produce based on the needs, while from the customer's side, they can be mindful of what they are buying.