In order to solve traffic problems government should tax private cars owners heavily and use the money to improve public transport. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Traffic congestion issues have been rising in many cities worldwide, causing several problems, including air and noise pollutions, rising of carbon emissions, and many more. Solutions have been made by governments around to world to takcle this issue. One of those is tax increasing for private car owner and use the revenue gained to develop public transport services. Whether this solution will have some benifits but they can cause drawbacks. On the one hand, to reduce private car usages, Many governments increase tax for car owner heavily and use this budget to improve public transportations like railways or busses. This will rise the number of people using public transport services, leading to a reduction of pollutions and the global warming issues. For example, in many deveolped cpuntries, there are more public transportation users than private transpotations transportations. On the other hand, this government policy will affect people,who cannot afford a price of car owning, in rural areas, which public transportations are underdeveloped, by limiting accessibility to healthcare services and educational opportunities, leading to a lower of quality of life of them. In conclusion, despite heavily increasing tax for private car may have environmental benefits, the goverments governments should concern about develment disparities among rural and urban ares to balance pros and cons of this solution.