In many countries, shopping is becoming a free-time activity that replaces traditional hobbies, such as reading and sport What are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In various countries, people prefer to do shopping during a free-time rather than doing conventional hobbies such as reading and sport. I would argue that this is a negative development because of several reasons that I’d like to discuss in this essay. The main reasons for the rising trend of shopping are the ease of access for online shopping and social media influence on creating impulsivity. As technology advances, people are moving their conventional ways of shopping from online, through a more convenient way such as e-commerce where it can be accessed by phone. Moreover, this advancement provides a brand to create digital ads through social media, where it can attract people to shop more like offering big promo for instance. Although some people may argue that doing more shopping means we are supporting the business for the economy, I believe it sets more drawbacks rather than benefit. Encouraging shopping means people have to buy more than what’s needed, which can result in overconsumption. Moreover, excessive purchase of goods can harm the environment by adding textile or packaging waste for instance that will end up in the landfill. In contrast, conventional hobbies such as sports and reading offer a better impact for health and personal growth rather than shopping. In conclusion, as shopping is becoming more common, it sets some downsides that can be harmful to a personal life. I firmly believe that by replacing healthier hobbies such as sport with shopping can lead to a negative impact on an individual.