The only way to improve the safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Road safety is a primary right of all the citizens. With the increase in accidents worldwide, it has become a global concern. Although a plethora of steps has been taken to alleviate the mishaps, the number of casualties has not declined yet. Hence, I disagree with the above statement as I believe there are other things to be considered for decreasing number of accidents. To begin with, drivers are not the only ones to be blamed with these casualties, highway conditions are equally responsible. Especially in the developing countries where the roads are still not solid enough to face high weather conditions or heavy weight of vehicles. For example, an Indian girl died because she could not see the pothole on the road in night. Moreover, the construction companies are witty enough to earn loads of money by building poor bridges and roads. For instance, a newly built bridge fall off as it was not able to handle the weight, this made alot of people injured too. Additionally, the conditions of vehicles are essentially important. Such as, in Bangladesh there are a lot of old buses running from 25 years got stuck on the highway and had to face the consequences. Governments should take mandatory actions and instead of just punishing drivers, they should concentrate on repairing or buying new buses which will result in improve of public sector. Furthermore, there are alot of towns and villages, where there is no electricity due to which it arouses a problem for the drivers to commute. To conclude, its not always drivers but also the several factors which are heavily responsible for the road mishaps. Government should introduce new rules for construction companies and improve the road conditions of villages and towns, especially in developing countries.