The only way to improve the safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, the method to improve the safety of roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. It is a positive development. In this essay, I will justify perspectives before presenting my opinion. Not only is the safety of our roads by giving stricter punishments but it also maintains discipline and reduces the number of traffic offences and accidents. Because drivers are aware of severe penalties, they may think twice before engaging in unsafe driving such as speeding. For example, during parties and festivals, drivers drink and drive fast breaking the rules of the roads. Had these safety procedures not existed, road safety would have been decreasing day by day. Furthermore, repeat offenders face increasingly severe penalties. This system could help target habitual offenders who consistently endanger public safety. Moving ahead, it is equally important to focus on education and awareness campaigns to improve road safety. Scarcely teaching drivers about the consequences of unsafe driving and the importance of road safety can lead to long-lasting behavioural changes. Moreover, environmental factors such as poor road conditions, inadequate signage, and lack of proper infrastructure can also significantly enhance road safety. In conclusion, stricter punishments alone may not be effective if the driving environment is hazardous. While, focus on education and awareness campaigns is also important. Not only does a combination of both improve road safety but, it also educates drivers about the rules and penalties for repeat offenders. Therefore, a multifaceted approach is necessary.