Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable that punishing people who drive illegally ensures traffic safety, and many individuals believe measures should be strict. Although I can see convincing arguments behind punishing drivers for safety purposes, I strongly opine that a suitable system is the best way to decrease crime rates. On the one hand, strict punishments have helped departments to make great achievements in the field of controlling drivers’ driving behaviours, attitudes and awareness. As a result, the rate of traffic accidents in cities has declined; some cities even get zero. For instance, according to the survey conducted by the University of Hong Kong, 22% of accidental traffic events, such as speeding, car crashes, and drunk driving, are controlled effectively. On the other hand, the mild approach to treating people has become more popular in society. Furthermore, if strict measures were used too frequently on people, they might create a sense of worry about driving and lead to a loss of confidence in justice, instead of mortifying their behaviour. For example, provided statistics by Tokyo University of Technology show that 65% of drivers prefer a mild approach rather than a strict one. In conclusion, strict punishments do work to retard public driving awareness. Therefore, it is clear that the idea of running a strict system cannot be supported. After thorough analysis on this subject, it is predicted that the adverse effects of the debate over strict measures will always be greater than the positive effects, and because of this, a mild approach to treating illegal drivers is necessary.