It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

Small local businesses have to face a lot of challenges, especially since they have to compete with larger shops and online retailers. In my opinion, this competition negatively affects the local economy, therefore, some solutions should be adopted to preserve their position. Big supermarkets and online shops represent the main competitors for small enterprises, since they offer the same products at lower prices, which they can afford since they can rely on higher funds and fewer expenses. Being the main competitors, their presence negatively affects local economy for a multitude of reasons. Firstly, since they offer lower prices, local shops would have to reduce theirs to compete; consequently, to cover all expenses, they would have to dismiss some job positions, increasing the unemployment rate. Secondly, if they were to be shut down, the city would lose some of revenue provided by their taxes. Lastly, local businesses usually provide locally grown products, which contain fewer chemical pesticides and are overall healthier; therefore, that would leave the citizens without any source for biofood. Some solutions to avoid this problem are connected to business strategy. Even if competitors are more advantaged, locals can adopt some changes to match with them. Firstly, advertisement holds a fundamental role, since social media have the power to drastically change the situation, supporting small businesses when required. Secondly, it is important to have a good product strategy, offering customers a variety of products with a good quality, to compensate for higher prices. In conclusion, shops locally owned hold a lot of power over the economy, therefore their presence on the market should be preserved and maintained through different market strategies