In many countries, formal exams are used to assess students’ abilities and to judge the success of their education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using formal exams to assess students’ abilities? Do you think the benefits of using formal exams outweigh the drawbacks?

Exams have always been used to evaluate students ' performance. However, not all those exams are fair. Such as standardized exams, which mainly examine academic knowledge. In this essay, I will explain the negative and positive impacts of implementing such exams. However, I strongly believe that it is more beneficial to integrate informal exams when assessing students. Applying a formal test to a large group of learners enables the institutions to measure the amount of information they successfully delivered to students. Moreover, those exams give them the opportunity to identify areas of improvement. For Example, a grade one unified Math test such as the MAP Test can help educators not only to assess the students' understanding of the main required concepts, but also to spot the light on math skills students fail to master. However, I believe checking the amount of data students gained is not necessarily an accurate way to assess the curriculum plans. On the other hand, formal exams don't demonstrate mastery of real-life skills, which is the purpose of learning. The teaching outcome is to prepare students to solve real-life problems. For example, grade 5 students may have the mathematical knowledge to find the square area. However, they may not be ready to connect this to their lives and find their home area. In conclusion, formal exams have positive and negative sides. Although the formal exams help to assess students ' performance based on the academic level, it still lacks the tools that measure real-life skills, which is a reflection of the learning process.