Many countries want to host international sports event, while other countries think that hosting sports event has more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whereas some governments suppose that hosting international sports events has more drawbacks than benefits, other governments contend that it has more advantages. Consequently in this essay, I am going to discuss both views and give my view on this issue. The prime reason why some countries avoid to make the international competitions is high costs. It can definitely become a serious financial burden for a state budget; in order to accept and accommodate international guests, you need to build loads of sports and housing facilities, and hone public transportation infrastructure. For example, according to Russian officials, the World Football Championship in Russia in 2018 cost more than a billion roubles for the national budget. On the other hand, the event can bring lots of money due to foreign sports supporters. In 2018, many international guests spent their money while living in Russia during the Championship. They were renting apartments, buying food and beverages from local restaurants, and souvenirs from local shops. As a result, the state expenditures on the Championship eventually paid back. Thus, Russian national budget made a profit resulting in more than 500 million roubles from that event. To conclude, while some countries prefer avoiding hosting international sports events, others actively receive revenue from holding the competitions. I personally agree with the people who believe that making international sports events would bring more profit than losses to the national budgets.