A few people debate that technological inventions like cellphone are making people socially less interactive. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, it is argued that advancements in cellphone technology are making individuals more reserved and less interactive. This invention has impacted our lives, both positively and negatively. This essay will discuss about cellphones, their advantages and drawbacks. To begin with, mobile phones became an inseparable part of our daily lives. They make communication with people look easy while providing a plethora of mobile applications (apps) which aid individuals in various situations. Furthermore, they are compact, hence the name mobile phone, so people could carry them with ease and also they provide other forms of communication namely instant messages and electronic mails (e-mails). One important aspect of mobile phones is social media which integrates people, anywhere around the world, in one common platform of communication. For example, when cellphones were first introduced in the late 1990s and smartphones early 2000s, they completely replaced landlines-which were the default mode of communication for decades- in a matter of years. Although phones offer a lot of advantages, they are not without their drawbacks. Firstly, people became addicts of smartphones and their overall interaction with people around them reduced also individuals felt the need to gain popularity among netizens (internet users) and this need became a huge issue since people would do anything to gain popularity,so smartphones have detrimental effects on people's mind. Secondly, deaths, which mainly arise from road accidents,related to smartphones are on the rise. Hence, reducing usage of cellphones will definitely have positive effects on people's mind. To conclude, this invention has changed humanity in many ways, both good and bad. Cellphones are a kind of technology that must be used responsibly in order to improve individual's both physical and mental wellbeing. Therefore, I strongly agree with the statement.