Many manufactured food and drink contains high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many health concerns are caused by sugary products. So many people think that their price should be higher in order to reduce the consumption level of sugar. I totally disagree with this statement because there are many other ways to encourage people to have healthier habits including raising awareness and making healthy food affordable. Firstly, while an increase in the price of sugary products may help reduce their consumption, knowledge and health conciousness are far more important. Better health is not only influenced by lower sugar level, but it requires awareness and practical advice. If people avoid food and drink which contains a lot of sugar but they alter to salty or oily choices, they will still have health issues. Therefore, individuals should be educated about the healthier habits including, diet, sleep, and workout. Moreover, they should access knowledge about healthier lifestyles such as recommended daily calories intake, daily sleep hours, and good nutritions. By being aware of all factors contributing to health, people will find balanced behaviours that fit with their lives. Another way to help people become healthier is to reduce the price of healthy meals. Although sugary products become more expensive, people may not change to buy sugar -free choices unless they can afford healthier options. Individuals currently prefer cheaper alternatives as they have to cover other necessary expenses, making the price of healthier food and drink more crucial. For example, most workers still love eating instant noodles because of their price. To change their habits, the price of healthier dishes must be much lower so they can afford them. In conclusion, it is undeniable that food and drink with a high level of sugar is one of the root causes leading to health issues. However, I firmly disagree to increase the price of sugary products as a solution because this might not help people become healthier. Raising awareness and providing practical recommendations together with making healthier food cheaper are more effective to change individuals' habits.