some people think that books are losing importance as a source of entertainment and information.to what extent do you agree

It is widely believed that the significance of literature is diminishing due to cutting-edge technology. I largely agree with this notion because of many reasons such as influence of social media and accessibility. One key reason why books are not preferred by people for their entertainment and knowledge is social media websites, as it is generally observed that various online applications, namely Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, Kindle, and so on, are prioritized by individuals which helps them to access any information at any time and entertain themselves as well. However, people have to visit bookstores or libraries for getting knowledge. In addition to this, having limited content in books is another reason for declining the importance of printed texts, as through online reading applications, people can obtain knowledge about past years, while paper books have limited content due to which electronic media is prioritized. Moreover, affordability is also responsible for losing relevance of physical books because these are costlier than electronic books which diverts people's opinion about purchasing journals. For example, a survey conducted by University of Guelph that 65% individuals preferred online reading rather than physical books and majority of young people prioritized digital platforms, especially YouTube, for their entertainment. In conclusion, convenient, accessibility, and affordability are aspects which encourages population to use electronic media over printed media.