Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think that the parents should be punished instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that children should be punished due to committing crimes, while there are some opposite opinions that parents need to be penalised instead. Parents are not always responsible for children ’s mistakes owing to several reasons. To begin with, there is no definite argument that children coming from a family where they are fully loved, will never make any mistake. It means that regardless of parents, children are likely to be affected by outside factors such as peers, internet and so on. For example, playing violent games for a long time can lead to aggressive behaviors which may result in crimes. Additionally, in the case of genetics, some children suffer from mental health problems including anti-social behavior that may come from schizophrenia, autism and ADHD. Thus, parents should not be punished when these individuals make mistakes. In contrast, there are certain reasons for the belief that parents have to be punishable. First, it can not be denied that children have criminal gestures because of parental neglect and parental abuse which reflects parents ’ responsibilities for these crimes. For instance, 85-90% of serial killers came from miserable families and witnessed domestic violence or even criminal turtune fortune of animals since they were small. Accordingly, it is evitable that parents play a vital role in molding the psyche in children. Second, as parents have the most essential impact on children ’s development, their illegal actions can be consequences of parents ’ inappropriate nurture. In conclusion, although there are some arguments that parents should be penalised for children ’s crimes, I strongly believe that children are accountable for their own mistakes. No matter being a child or adult, people have to take responsibility for their behaviour.