A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantaged of tourism in the modern world?

Nowadays a vast of regions put priority on globetrotting as a profound source of income. This essay will explore the drawbacks and advantages of tourism for countries in the contemporary world. Firstly, it is obvious that tourism is one of the most profitable spheres, which is making trillions of dollars every year. For instance, according to World Bank's statistics, some countries such as France, Italy, Turkey and Indonesia made 10 trillion dollars in 2024 on resorting in total. Moreover, tourism is one of the most stable sources of funding for the landmark's budget.Millions of travellers around the world always forge interest in visiting some countries that have stunning views, great landscapes or historical places as Italy or Turkey. Hence, there is a constant demand for travel, which leads to a constant flow of money. Nevertheless, tourism usually brings a lot of problems for the government and locals. The flow of visitors causes a high-cost apartment, increasing amount of criminals and drugs contribution. For instance, according to the FBI stats since 2022 after quarantine, when travelling became legal again Bali's criminal index soared 10 times and Thailand's drug selling multiplied 5 times. Moreover, number of visitors a year is seldom unlimited, so a vast of historical buildings are devastating because of vandalism and overcrowding. For example, the Coliseum is destroyed every year by some writings and scratches made by foreign citizens. In conclusion, tourism is a great opportunity for some states to make a lot of money, fostering economics, but still, there are a block of drawbacks which should be well-managed.